Yavatmal at Glance
  How to Reach
More Information
  Places to Visit
  Member of Parliament
  Famous Personalities
  Photo Gallery
Advertising / Publicity
Advocates / Laywers
Agro Agencies
Automobile Showrooms / Shops
Banks / ATMs
Blood Bank & Ambulance
Book Depo
Chartered Accountants (CA)
Civil Contractors
Cloth Stores
Clubs & Associations
Computer Shops
Courier Services
Cyber Cafes
Doctors & Hospitals
Electronic Shops
Fashion Design & Tailors
Gas Agencies
General Stores
Government Offices
Grain Merchants
Hardware / Paints
Hotels & Restaurants
Imp Phone Numbers
Insurance Companies
Internet Cafes
Jeweller Shops
Kirana Stores
Marriage Halls
Medical Stores
Mobile / Telephone Shops
Petrol Pump / Filling Station
Pharma Distributors
Photographer / ColorLabs
Printing Press
Private Tutors & Classes
Pvt. Taxi Services
School & Colleges
Shoe / Footware
Spray Painting
Sweet Marts
Tax Consultants
Colleges & Schools

It is conjectured that the name of Yavatmal district in the past was Yavat or Yavate (a plateau) or Yavatecha Mahaal (Borough or Division of Yavate). The Ein-e-Akbari written by Abul Fazal, a famous writer in the court of King Akbar, also alludes to Yavatmal district as Yot-Lohar. Lohar is the name of a village 5 km to the west of Yavatmal while Yot is probably an Urdu corruption of the name Yavat.

Yavatmal City was main town of Berar. Yavatmal was earlier also spelled as YEOTMAL or YEVTMAL. Region of Yavatmal (now District of Yavatmal) was part of the dominion of Allauddin Bahamani Shah-The founder of Bahamandy dynasty since 1347. In 1572 ruler of Ahmadnagar (Now another district of Maharashtra state of India which is also referred as "Sambhaji Nagar" or simply "Nagar")annexed the Yavatmal District.

In 1596, Chand Bibi the queen of Ahmadnagar, ceded the district of Yavatmal to Moughals (One of the ruler of India) . After the death of Aurangzeb the moughal king in 1707, Yavatmal was paased on to the Great Marathas. When Raghuji Bhosle became the ruler of Nagpur in 1783, he included the Yavatmal district in his kingdom. After British East India Company took over Berar in 1853, by 1863, Yavatmal became part of East Berar District and later of South East Berar district which were districts of Central Provinces. Quite late before the 1947, Yavatmal was part of Madhya Pradesh but in 1956 after the reorganization of states in India District of Yavatmal was transferred to Bombay state. When the state of Maharashtra came into existence in 1960 (1st of May), Yavatmal District became part of part of Maharashtra.

This District has given two chief minister to Maharashtra State (Shri Vasantrao Naik and Shri Sudhakarrao Naik) and many more great politicians & great Personalities like Loknayak Bapuji Ane the great Freedom fighter, Babaji Daate the great social worker & Jawaharlal Darda, founder of the most popular daily newspaper Lokmat in Maharashtra, was based in Yavatmal. Shri Darda was also active in the Independence struggle. Post-independence, this district of Yavatmal has consistently favored Congress Party (Indira) in its political leanings. So the state government representatives (known in India as Member of Legislative assembly or MLA) and central government representatives (known in India as Member of Parliament or MP) elected by people in Yavatmal have been largely from Congress party (Indira). In the 90's, the trend has reversed, though; with the election of members of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)to the prominent positions of MP and MLAs to represent Yavatmal both at state and central government levels.

thumbnailYavatmal is located at 20.4°N 78.13°E. It has an average elevation of 445 metres (1459 feet). The district is situated in the Wardha Penganga-Wainganga plain. To the north of the district are the Wardha and Amravati districts. To the east is Chandrapur district and to the south are Nanded district and the state of Andhra Pradesh. The districts of Parbhani and Akola also surround Yavatmal.

The chief rivers flowing through the district are the Wardha and the Penganga. The Wardha is the only river flowing through the district which is partly navigable. The Bembla and the Nirguda are the main perennial tributaries of the Wardha which flow through the district. Adan is other important river in this area.

Yavatmal District forms the southeast corner of Amravati Division, which corresponds to the former British Raj province of Berar.

Yavatmal district comprises sixteen tehsils namely Arni, Umarkhed, Kalamb, Pandharkawada, Ghatanji, Zari Jamani, Darwha, Digras, Ner, Pusad, Babhulgaon, Mahagaon, Maregaon, Yavatmal, Ralegaon and Wani.

thumbnailDistrict of white gold (cotton), large deposits of limestone and Kolam tribe. Jowar and cotton are the main produce of the district. Cotton and teakwood are the chief exports of the district. Other items exported include lime, wooden furniture and oranges.

Cotton-ginning and pressing are carried on. The town is also the chief trading centre in the district, and is connected by road with Dhamangaon station, which is 29 miles from this town. It is also known as cotton city. During the time of British rule, it was considered to be a hill station. Local businesses in town are dominated by presence of agricultural supply facilities which are very useful for the nearby farmer community.

New generation is joining the workforce of 21st century slowly and there are a number of computer learning centres and educational institutes.

thumbnail'Major business establishment in Yavatmal includes the Raymonds factory which produces the Jeans Fiber. Its is 100% export unit from Raymonds, which is a famous clothes brand.

Yavatmal District has major industrial areas at places like- MIDC Lohara, Darwha, Digras, Pusad, Umerkhed, Wani, Umari, Pandharkawada, Ralegaon and Babhulgaon, Ner and Wani-Maregaon. Main Market places in the Yavatmal district are: Yavatmal City, Wani, Darwha, Digras, Pusad, Umerkhed, Pandharkawada. Main Banking places are: Yavatmal, Pusad, Digras, Ghatanji and Pandharkawada, Wani.
How to Reach:

1) Air: Nagpur is the nearest airport (139 kms), linked to Mumbai (776 kms). Other airports in the vicinity are Aurangabad (288 kms) and Pune (475 kms).

2) Rail: Connected by rail, with a station at Yavatmal (narrow gauge line) to Murtijapur. Other nearest railway stations at Dhamangaon (40 Km), Wardha & Sevagram (70 Km), Badnera (80 Km) and Nagpur (145 Km)

3) Road: State highways and roads from the district headquarters at Yavatmal link all 16 tehsils (subdistricts) and major towns. National highway No 7 passes through the district.


Male Profiles

Female Profiles

Add New Profile

Navratri 2010

Prerna Sthal

Members of Parliament

Famous Personalities

Places to Visit

Designed & Maintained By ColorGlow. Copyright - YavatmalOnline. All Rights Reserved
The content of these pages have been compiled with care & diligence. We do not take any responsibility on how it is used or the consequences of its use.